Yard Work Can Be Risky Business

I still do not mow the lawn even though I’ve lived in the Midwest for quite some time. I do however work in the flower beds and prune shrubs etc. I usually have fun doing it. It is satisfying to see the immediate results of your sweat and labor. This week wasn’t quite the satisfactory result I enjoy.
As I was cleaning up a flower bed and weeding, I found a large patch of Poison Oak. Yes, I removed it. Bad decision. Now I have a yucky rash on my arms. This isn’t just unsightly. It’s a huge inconvenience. I cannot work in the yard until it’s gone. The heat makes it really uncomfortable! So for now I’m covered in calamine lotion and staying in the air conditioning …enjoying the view of my yard from inside.

20140712-100047-36047959.jpg

Leave a Reply

