My Little Blinking Digital Motivation

This past weekend I did something that I have been wanting to do for several months now. I purchased a Fitbit Flex bracelet. A friend has another brand of the blinking fitness tracker that gives you an account of your daily activity level and lets you know when you are being a total lazy ass. She swears by it. She says it’s the best motivation ever. My initial goal is 10,000 steps a day. That sounds like a pretty impressive number doesn’t it? It actually only comes out to be about 4 miles of walking a day which is pretty easily achieved if you do thirty minutes of exercise and go about your normal routine. Unless you are chained to a chair all day. In that case, you might want to go ahead and run or walk for 4 miles and then go to work. It also lets you log your daily food and water intake and it tracks your sleep patterns. So far I’ve worn it consistently for 4 days and I have made all my goals. By October, I should be down twenty pounds if I follow this pattern. Fingers crossed!

This morning when I woke up I received an email from my device letting me know the battery was low and that I needed to charge it. This could take up to three hours to fully charge the battery. Oh no! What will I do? I can’t move and not have it logged in my Fitbit! I guess I’ll blog about it and eat my breakfast…very slowly.

Leave a Reply

