Could I Be A Hypocrite?

I really try to impart my children with good manners, social graces and how to be respectful and polite. I think both my husband and I have done a pretty good job with this. My boys are usually polite. They frequently use “please and thank you”. To that end, I have always taught them not to curse. My “Mother’s Mantra” is that cursing is when people are not smart enough to come up with anything else to say. Here is my dilemma, I like music with inappropriate lyrics. I am not talking about Hip Hop or Rap. I’m talking about popular music with rhythm, harmony and melody. Sometimes it has lyrics that are explicit. They are around it, they hear it and when they were younger, I would tell myself that they didn’t understand the reference so it was “ok” to listen along. Did I make a mistake? Now that they are teenagers, I correct my kids when they use an inappropriate term to refer to someone who angers them or use “sucks” regarding something that causes them displeasure. It just sounds awful. I’m not perfect, I do swear sometimes. I am a full-fledged member of the “Mom’s who Drink and Swear” club. I just happen to feel that it’s my responsibility to teach my kids that it does make a person sound stupid. Right?  Does this make me a hypocrite?

Leave a Reply

