Couldn’t have said it better

20140614-115558-42958876.jpgLast night my family had the pleasure of attending the marriage celebration of two wonderful friends that was 19 years in the making. Yes. Nineteen YEARS!! These two women are incredible human beings that have created a loving family while they patiently waited for the powers that be to allow them to make a legal commitment to each other. I feel blessed to know them and to have been invited to share with them this special celebration of their union. The ceremony was very thoughtful and the promises they spoke were those of two people who truly know the heart and mind of the other person. Friends played songs written just for them and their young son’s were a part of the ceremony. It was really beautiful. It made me reflect on my own wedding day more than twenty years ago and wonder how it might have been if we had been forced to wait 19 years. Would I have my children? Would I have been patient enough to wait that long? I love my husband more than anything but I will admit, I don’t think I could have done that. I don’t think anybody should have to. Love is love. My friends’ program for their ceremony stated simply but most eloquently “What barrier is there that LOVE cannot break?” I couldn’t have said it better.

Leave a Reply

